top of page


The 228 Memorial Foundation is a non-profit corporation established by the government according to law to deal with the aftermath of the 228 Incident. It consists of a policy-making body and an executive department:

Board of Directors and Supervisors

The board made up of 13 to 19 directors chosen from scholars, experts, social leaders and government representatives, with at least one-third of the members having to be representatives of the victims and their family members. The directors recruited without pay by the Executive Yuan to serve a two-year term may be asked to serve again after their term ends. The directors elect from among themselves a chairman to preside over the board meetings. Six persons had served as the foundation's chairman since 1995 and the incumbent chairman, Hsueh Hua-Yuna, was elected in September 2016.



There are three supervisors chosen from officials with experience in state audit and financial control and appointed without pay by the government to supervise and examine the foundation's funds, deposits and financial affairs and audit its accounts.


Executive department

The department is led by an executive director, who, named by the chairman of the board and ratified by the board of directors, is responsible for executing the board of directors' decisions as well as the daily operations of foundation. There is also one deputy executive director and several other staff members divided into three to four sections to carry out the functions of the foundation. The foundation has had six executive directors since its inception, and the incumbent executive director, Yang Cheng-lung, assumed his post in June, 2005.

bottom of page